The Wrath And The Dawn :Review

First disclaimer: I haven’t read The Rose And The Dagger yet, so I won’t say this is a completely unprejudiced review, because I have no idea who turns into what next.

https://i0.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1417956963l/18798983.jpg

The Wrath And The Dawn

Renee Ahdieh

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

Rating: 4.9 stars

Genre: Fantasy, romance, retelling

Cliffhanger: Yes, but the next book is available now. (That’s me urging you to definitely try this duology)

Things I loved about this book:

*Pace: I LOVED the pace. It seems slightly slow in the beginning, but then it picks up a wonderful pace, and you can’t stop reading more of the story.

*Retelling: I havent read A Thousand And One Nights, but I have a fair idea of the story, and I love how its retold with twist here.

*Shahrzad: I generally dislike a lot of well-liked female leads in YA stories (*cough cough*) but I adored Shahrzad. She’s brave, but she has a reason for this. The fact that her courage is driven by vengeance makes the whole thing so much more realistic. I was so tired of heroines who were just genetically inherently brave and amazing and “flawed” (yet flawless). Shahrzad here is unapologetically perfect and amazing (or maybe I am prejudiced).

*Jalal: No spoilers, you’ll meet Jalal after a few chapters into this book. I’ll just say, no matter what the next book holds, uptil now, I really like this dude.

*Khalid: Khalid is the new love of my life. Nowhere in the book does he exude charm, or even “brood” in that typical way of alpha heroes, but you can’t help but love him.

*Khalid: At the end of the day I am a goner for dark alpha heroes with a darker past.

*Khalid : Oh well..

Things I disliked about this book:

*The slow beginning

Overall:

The Wrath and The Dawn is a perfect mixture of adventure, romance, magic, action, and lots of story-telling. It fed my imagination, it pulled me into that world. A lot of reviewers criticise Shahrzad for being weakened by her love for Khalid, and because her sense of “vengeance” is not strong enough. My answer: Did you miss the memo where it said this is a romance? Have you ever read a love story??

Call me a fool, but I believe in all the “love” crap, atleast when its written in a book. :p

quote23

If you are anything like me, go ahead and read this book.

-Sripurna.

P.S: Did I mention I love Khalid?

2 thoughts on “The Wrath And The Dawn :Review

Leave a Reply

